• Slideshow - Exhibits
  • Slideshow - Dempster Windmill
  • Slideshow - Filley Stone Barn
  • Slideshow - 1905 Gage County Map

Learn More Than You
Knew Before at the
Gage County Museum

Mission Statement: The Gage County Historical Society collects, preserves, and interprets artifacts and archival materials related to the history of Gage County and holds them in trust for present and future generations.

Museum is located at 101 North Second Street, Beatrice, Nebraska (corner of 2nd and Court streets). See map. The Museum is in a 1906 Burlington Passenger Station, the first Neo-Classical Revival architectural style on the Burlington line. This building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Museum hours are:

  • Tuesday–Friday, 9am-12pm/1pm-5pm
  • Open Saturdays Memorial Day to Labor Day, 9am-12pm/1pm-5pm
  • Closed all major holidays

Admission: donations welcome
Tours by appointment.

Tourist information available.


Scope of collections:

  • People
  • Railroad
  • Industry
  • Medical
  • Agriculture



Museum Tours Homestead Days, June 16-19 (open Sunday 1-5pm), with horse-drawn trolley rides June 18-19, 1-4 pm! Newly restored 1906 CB&Q waycar/caboose will be open!

Annual Gage County Historical Society Board Meeting and Banquet, Saturday, Aug. 20 at the Paddock Kensington

Filley Stone Barn Harvest Festival, Saturday, Oct. 8


Museum Now Open For Summer Hours!

Exhibits are still be putting up and updated because of the flood, but visitors are welcome to view the exhibits in progress and to do genealogy research during the hours listed at left.



Robert Taylor's 105th Birthday Celebration

Gage County Classic Film Institute will celebrate Filley native and Beatrice High School graduate Robert Taylor on Friday, Aug. 19 and Saturday, Aug. 20

Films to be shown at the Community Players Theater include: Personal Property, Escape (also starring Beatrice native Janet Shaw), and Many Rivers to Cross.

Guest speakers and authors: F. Warner Smith (Janet Shaw's nephew), Linda Alexander, Charles Tranberg, E.A. Kral, Lesa Arterburn, Jeanelle Kleveland and Bruce Crawford.

More details to come.